Is the change worth it?

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mike Honeycutt

Mike Honeycutt

• Group:Members*
  • Member ID: 30,656

Posted Oct. 01 2015 - 12:43 PM

I am brand new to AR-15's except for the little run I had with them in the military in 1977-80. Things have obviously changed up a bunch. I am considering buying a 6x45 upper for my S&W M&P. I already have a Savage in .243 win that I load for and though the 5.56 needed a bigger brother but not in an AR-10 platform. The 6x45 gives my .243 win a little brother in an AR format and the 5.56 a little more umph for varmints and paper. So, before I drop several dimes on an upper and all the reloading gear I have to ask those of you that shoot and reload this round, IS IT WORTH THE TROUBLE AND/OR Expense? I CAN'T build from scratch so a complete upper in 18-20" is my tops. I live in a motorized wheel chair and getting range time isn't easy. Would I just be better off getting the SR-25 in 7.62 for hunting, targets etc? THAT is what I really want but a shoulder rebuild next week will slow that WAY down. During rehab I'm doing homework. Please, any input on the change would be appreciated. In New Mexico, this WON'T be a deer gun, but pigs can die too.

#2 ONLINE   towtruck

towtruck

• Group:Senior Staff
  • Member ID: 22,192

Posted Oct. 01 2015 - 12:58 PM

Welcome aboard!

I am not familiar with that round but some one will be along shortly to help you out. We have a few experts in that field who will steer you in the right direction. In the mean time jump in and read to your hearts content. 

• Mike Honeycutt likes this

Signature:

sv3kXof.jpg

In the words of my grandfather...
"Beauty is only skin deep- ugly goes clear to the bone!"
"You can't fix stupid"
"Sometimes fishing is better than catching"
"There is no sense being stupid unless you show it"
"Guns and fishing poles----you can never have enough!"