AR15Armory Announcements

Photo

Decrease in velocity with increase in powder? Any explanation?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spenheg

spenheg

• Group:New Members
  • Member ID: 31,395

Posted Jul. 23 2016 - 12:18 AM

Hi all,

New to the Forum; just registered today. I've been reading these forums and hoped I could get some help from someone more experienced than myself

I'll start this off by saying I'm relatively new to reloading (been reloading rifle for around 3 years), newer to pistol reloading (been reloading pistol for around 1 year), and I just bought a 10mm 3 weeks ago so I'm very new to reloading 10mm. Like most here I didn't pick up a 10mm to shoot .40 s&w power loads; I want the hot stuff (within reason). 

I decided last week to see how fast I could push a 180 grain XTP with Power Pistol. I intended to load the 180 grain XTP over 9.4 grains PP @ o.a.l of 1.26", then increase by 0.1 grain increments until I either saw pressure signs in the brass or achieved 1400 fps, whichever came first (I had previously safely loaded up to 9.4 grains PP). I am using new starline brass and Winchester primers, firing out of a Rock Island Armory 1911 5". Below are my results:

180 grain XTP @ 1.260" O.A.L. (5 shots each)

9.4 grains Power Pistol

Average velocity: 1292 ES: 57

9.5 grains Power Pistol

Average velocity: 1308 ES: 48

9.6 grains Power Pistol

Average velocity: 1319 ES: 21

9.7 grains Power Pistol

Average velocity: 1290 ES: 35

9.8 grains Power Pistol

Average velocity: 1292 ES: 66

I stopped at 9.8 grains, although my brass never showed signs of over pressure aside from slightly flattened primers. No case bulges, excessively flattened primer, primer piercing, etc. I loaded up to 10 grains, but did not fire past 9.8 as the dropping velocities made me nervous. I also note the relatively large ES.

This brings up several questions:

1) Why would my velocities decrease as my powder charge increased?