Help me with my first ar build

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Devils15

Devils15

• Group:Members*
  • Member ID: 32,573

Posted Jun. 12 2018 - 10:01 AM

New to the armory so first off I'll say hello.

Like the title says. Me and my wife purchased the first ar addition to our family. A m&p sport 2. Nice ar shoots fine for my needs. Although I like the ar platform I am new to the mindboggling amount of choices for everything. A2 this, m4 that, billet, cast, forged.

Il start with its intended use. Range gun, I'm not a hunter, but I do like to sit down at a table and sight in a scope. Just something I find fun. Of course personal defense. I do have a wife and three kids that I worry about.

I want to stay with the .233 5.56 ammo selection. I will be building this gun with my son as a father son project, and as time and money allow. I'm not going for a 1000 yard tack driver. My budget as of right now is about 400 dollars. But I don't mind doing the build in phases. So I can add more money on as the build moves along.

I'm also not looking for a extreme high dollar build. Just a reliable, durable. Nice shooting gun that me and my son can build together. With the money spent where it matters. So that I have something to take to a range for a fun time with the family for a long time to come.

I'll answer any questions that might help narrow down choices for me, and look forward to your input. Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk

#2 ONLINE   geepee3

geepee3

• Group:Members
  • Member ID: 29,276

Posted Jun. 12 2018 - 10:16 AM

There are a few Fathers Days sales going on.

Primary Arms has some good prices on stripped lowers and other parts. Just make sure not to get any polymer lowers.

Palmetto State Armory and Joe Bobs Outfitters are good places to look for parts.

Do you know what length barrel you are looking for?

Thanks,

Glenn

Edited by geepee3, Jun. 12 2018 - 10:17 AM.

Signature: