• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Dale Grice

Dale Grice

• Group:New Members
  • Member ID: 32,576

Posted Jun. 29 2018 - 12:56 PM

Hi all,

Wish I could search, but I am a newbie here. Have a mostly Palmetto State build AR .223 Wylde chamber. When new, no problems. After about a thousand rounds through, started having problems.

My latest problem is usually the last round, live, is chambered, or sitting halfway chambered with the bolt found locked back. This has also happened with a live round chambered and a second attempting to do so as well.

Tried different mags. Also used mags that did not have problems during the first thousand rounds. I added a muzzle brake. But shot a hundred rounds with no failures.

I did have problems with the BCG. This was before the muzzle brake add. Found one of the rings was out of the slot, bent over and worn. Replaced that. I had used brake cleaner to clean the BCG. Appears I hardened the extractor o-ring. Removed the o-ring and had no problems.

My thinking is that my current problem is with the BCG or maybe inertia was changed enough that the BCG isn't moving fast enough. So my question(s); Replace the BCG, or get a an upgraded buttstock spring. Or am I going down the wrong path?

Your thoughts and suggestions? (within reason :>) )

Thanks,

Dale

#2 OFFLINE   GLShooter

GLShooter

• Group:Armory Staff
  • Member ID: 7,056

Posted Jun. 30 2018 - 12:11 PM

Factory ammo? I'd conside4putting a new extractor spring in the bolt to dtart. You certainly don't need any expensive parts at this point.

Get a chrome silicone spring.

Greg

Signature:
The best gun for self defense? Any loaded one will do.

#3 OFFLINE   Dale Grice

Dale Grice

Posted Jun. 30 2018 - 01:13 PM

Factory Ammo. Lake City.

New extractor spring? But it is extracting. Live rounds are being chambered. Bolt isn't closing.

Dale

#4 OFFLINE   GLShooter

GLShooter

Posted Jun. 30 2018 - 09:28 PM