• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   enduin

enduin

• Group:New Members
  • Member ID: 32,591

Posted Jul. 02 2018 - 11:33 PM

Hi guys,

I'm not new to AR15s but I am new to building them. I decided I wanted to build a lightweight AR so I bought the components after doing extensive research, but I'm encountering some issues, and I would really appreciate if someone could enlighten me.

Here is the list of the main components:

Faxon 16" mid pencil barrel with A2 flash hider

Aero upper

Midwest lightweight handguard

Wojtek adjustable gas port and gas tube

Brownells lightweight nitride BCG (9oz)

Wolff RP spring

Polymer lower

The AR came out pretty lightweight so I was very happy with that. I know you can't cheat physics and that lighter weight = more perceived recoil, which is why I chose the lightweight BCG and adjustable gas port, so that I could tune the gas down. My preference was to avoid muzzle brakes..

When I went to the range to test the gun and tweak the gas port (single round in the mag, opening the gas bit by bit until the bolt locks open reliably) I was surprised to see how much perceived recoil it had. My range ammo is Wolf Gold 55gr btw. Now, perceived recoil is obviously subjective, but to give you an idea I have experience with a wide variety of guns from big bore revolvers to 12ga shotguns and Barrett M82A1. So when I say it had a lot more perceived recoil than expected, I mean for a .223. I expect .223 to be soft shooting.