Eisenfaust

Is a combination tactical/hunting AR15 practical?

I am pretty new to the AR15 world and am looking to build my first one. I would like to have a rifle for hunting deer and possibly bear as well as having a 'tactical' rifle. I was thinking a foregrip, eotech site, light, etc for tactical, but then being able to take some of that off such as the site and foregrip and plopping down a scope for hunting. Is this really a feasible type of thing to do? Thanks

No problem with that type of setup.

2 notes

556 is not what you want for bear. I will disagree with it for deer especially large ones but opinion vary on that subject. I dont think anybody is going to say it is a good bear round. You could do an AR is another caliber say 4.62x39 and it would rock for all 3 purposes.

second, check with your state law, I will willing to bet the very first thing you are going to want to take off is the light. I dont know off hand of any state that lets you hunt deer with a gun that has a light on it. In tennessee it will ruin your day if they catch you with a light mounted on a hunting rifle or even a pistol if you are hunting at the time.

• Like 1

No problem with that type of setup.

2 notes

556 is not what you want for bear. I will disagree with it for deer especially large ones but opinion vary on that subject. I dont think anybody is going to say it is a good bear round. You could do an AR is another caliber say 4.62x39 and it would rock for all 3 purposes.

second, check with your state law, I will willing to bet the very first thing you are going to want to take off is the light. I dont know off hand of any state that lets you hunt deer with a gun that has a light on it. In tennessee it will ruin your day if they catch you with a light mounted on a hunting rifle or even a pistol if you are hunting at the time.

He means 7.62x39 (in case you are really new at this).

He means 7.62x39 (in case you are really new at this).