GLShooter

20 Practical Case Forming

Post by lkrbuilder13 on Feb 19, 2014 at 6:41pm
Alright, I have my bushing die to load my 20 practical. I remember I think it was Ritch talking about getting it set up and floating the bushing? Is there anything different from what the directions that come with the die say that I should do that would get me better results? This is my first time using these and I don't want to learn the hard way if I am going to do something wrong.
Thank you

Brian

yesterday at 5:39am : R Johnson

That's right, set the body of the die up to resize the body and bump the shoulder back. Then set the bushing. On a 20 Practical there won't be much of a float or space under the bushing. You will have to adjust it by eye, until you have a smooth neck shoulder junction. Without a doughnut on the neck. Remember to use the decapping stem retaining nut not the expander ball.

Post by GLSHOOTER on yesterday at 9:07am
Now for the CHEATING way to make it EASY!!!

First take a 223 sizer and run it through the die WITHOUT the expandrer/decapper. This wil size the neck down and make it so much easier to do the final sizing. It takes a bit longer that way but the results, to me, look a bit more consistent. It also is just easier when you do the final neck down as you are able to feel the neck engage the bushing and you can ease it in. This is definetly not the ten panny nail hammer activity.

Greg

Post by biggdawg on yesterday at 11:43am

First take a 223 sizer and run it through the die WITHOUT the expandrer/decapper. This wil size the neck down and make it so much easier to do the final sizing. It takes a bit longer that way but the results, to me, look a bit more consistent. It also is just easier when you do the final neck down as you are able to feel the neck engage the bushing and you can ease it in. This is definetly not the ten panny nail hammer activity.

Greg