Sign in to follow this  
TomJefferson

My Harley Gets a Makeover

I plan to retire next year so that means next season I do my bucket list "Easy Rider" tour. Point the bike that direction go till I can't go, stay until I rest up, then go some more. That means this season its get me and the bike ready. Half way through the season, I have the redneck tan from hell. I'm so dark in the arms and face i'm like the old comedians interracial joke Zebra. Getting ready is like getting ready for a race its get in shape and get your gear in shape.

Tires

I got 14,500 miles out of my last set of Harley Dunlop Elite tires, longest I ever got out of any tires in my life on a bike. Now that said like you guys I'm a researcher on the web so did a lot of research.. 2009 Dunlop combined with Harley to upgrade their tour bike tires. The goal was longer miles and better grip, an almost contradiction since the rule of thumb is harder the rubber the more miles but less grip and vice versa. The result was the Dunlop Mt Multi-tread technology. That's a industry term for bonding two different rubber hardnesses in the same tire. They increased the center of the tire to a harder rubber while adding more rubber a softer rubber on the sides where you lean. Now anyone who rides knows front and back is a harder nut to crack so in that Harley made changes in their 2014 Rushmore bikes, which mine is one. The increased the front tire size. Makes sense, bigger the tire, less it rolls per mile. Now if you follwed the motorcycle forums, I increased the front tire life even more by upping the pressure as the tire wore so it wore evenly. I was up to 40 PSI on the front tire when I retired them but for the first time ever retired both the front and back at the same time. Though none of this is rocket science really and makes sense that in its self was amazing. Needless to say, I'm a researcher but I don't lack common sense either. Don't fix what anit broken and because I'm not on a fixed income yet, I wen