Flesh Wound

Any good reason to not get certified as an NRA instructor?

I know the NRA instructor certifications do not seem too awfully well regarded in some circles. However this is something I had looked at doing in the past. Dunno why, but it's just been a thing I wanted.

Other than the time and costs to get the cert is there any *good* reason not to? 

I can't think of one. 

Does Texas require you to pass a course of fire to "qualify" for CCW ? 

Does being a NRA certified instructor make you qualified to teach the class, at least in part ? 

I would love to teach lose classes and help shape young skulls full of lead. 

I would think it would depend. I am an NRA law enforcement instructor, and I found their instruction was really well done. I am required to either attend 24 hours of non-agency conducted training within 3 years, or retake a 40 hour course for each discipline. 

22 minutes ago, Retcop said:

I can't think of one. 

Does Texas require you to pass a course of fire to "qualify" for CCW ? 

Does being a NRA certified instructor make you qualified to teach the class, at least in part ? 

I would love to teach lose classes and help shape young skulls full of lead. 

There are no outside certifications required for a Texas LTC. I've had mine for just short of 2 years. 

I'm sure the course is a pre-req for some of their instructors teaching other NRA classes.

4 minutes ago, Pepper said:

I would think it would depend. I am an NRA law enforcement instructor, and I found their instruction was really well done. I am required to either attend 24 hours of non-agency conducted training within 3 years, or retake a 40 hour course for each discipline. 

Thanks for the data point.

The NRA say I am an instructor, although I'm not really an instructor. But I am a certified range officer, so I get to pay more dues and I can get on the instructor site.