capnjim01

New guy building a rifle 2.0

Ok ammo and mags came yesterday, picked up the lower receiver this afternoon and began putting things together. Some of you will recall that I am an absolute newbie with ARs. Couldn't at least one of  you have told me that if your not careful you can pinch the s### our of your pinky if you get it caught between upper and lower when you getting the rear pin lined up.

I was able to go by Academy(I had a gift card) and compare the Vortex Sparc, 1x6 Strike Eagle, and the Strike Fire. The Sparc had a red flare in the bottom left that just made everything kind of blurry and the dot was really small so it was a no go. I really wanted the Strike Eagle but the cross hairs /reticule was just to small, getting old sucks and I didn't feel comfortable with it. Maybe if I had it mounted on a rifle it might be better. So I bought the Strike Fire, dot is big and bright enough to pick up easily, with the gift card I only paid 29 buck out of pocket plus tax ok call it $44.

The bad news, other thank catching my pinky is with the weather and work schedule it may be a week to 10 days before I can go to the range. Any way I'm going to mount the MBUS and the scope tonight. I asked my wife if I could sleep with it in the bed and that was a firm negatory. She did compromise and said I could bring it to bed and watch Hawaii 5 O just in case the guys ran in to trouble I could help them out.

I want to thank everyone for their input and help especially Tackleberry, and Retcop, and bamashooter for their input on the scopes.

Pic to follow in a few days but for those you just can't wait juts google AR15 red dot and it will look very similar to a thousand other ARs

• Like 3
  • Haha 1

Congrats on the progress. I think you'll like the StrikeFire. Bright red or red/grn?

Tip of the Day: Watch that pinky! :tiphat: