juancts

Please help me choose my new AR

Hi. I’m a beginner in the AR world. I want to buy my first AR mainly for hog hunting.

I want to buy a good quality “keeper” rifle, so I’m not trading or selling it in 1 year. That means that I don’t want a cheap lower tier $500 rifle. My budget is $950.

After some research I found 3 interesting ARs:

Colt LE6920

Springfield Saint Victor

S&W M&P Sport 2

Appreciate your advise and help on these rifles or any others you think are good options.

Can't go wrong with a Colt! 

IMO, all 3 are pretty sharp rifles. The SA might use more "propitiatory" type parts. But as with their handguns, there is quite a few options available, and the fire arms are quite dependable. S&W makes a great product. Have a buddy that owns a sport 2 that he both likes and has slowly dressed up.  Colt..been in it FOREVER, that says something in it's self.  Maybe look into Rugers offerings, my 1st BR purchase was an 8500 and it's still going strong. 

Edited by Fxdwg
spelling

Of the three options you list all are good for the money in my opinion. However, if I were making the selection I'd not choose the Springfield just because it has some proprietary parts. Not because of any quality issues. For me it would be a coin flip between the Colt or M&P.

And, welcome to the Armory! 

18 minutes ago, Flesh Wound said:

For me it would be a coin flip between the Colt or M&P.

S&W should win that toss, if for no other reason than Colt is UAW union, which I will NOT support in any way!

• Like 3

Of the three options you list all are good for the money in my opinion. However, if I were making the selection I'd not choose the Springfield just because it has some proprietary parts. Not because of any quality issues. For me it would be a coin flip between the Colt or M&P.

And, welcome to the Armory! 

Thanks !

Colt......

Welcome to the Armory. :tiphat:

Changing the subject. 300 Blackout is a great hog cartridge.  S&W M&P call's theirs a 300 Whisper.