Orava

Replaced barrel, BCG not cycling

Hi,

A little about me. I was in the Army in the early '90s, so I know about shooting/maintaining the M16 well. I'm mechanically inclined and have worked a lot on cars but this is my first attempt at gunsmithing. This is also my first AR15.

Anyways, I replaced the barrel and bolt on my Bear Creek Arsenal 6.5 Grendel upper with a Ballistic Advantage barrel in .223 Wylde. The rifle fired fine but the bolt carrier group wouldn't move. The gas block came pre-installed but I had to remove it to get the barrel nut on. I noticed there was carbon around the gas block and someone watched me fire it and said you could see gas coming out of the block. I think the gas inlet on the block and the outlet on the barrel aren't lined up right but the weird part is that there is a hole on the bottom of the gas block and barrel and I put a roll pin through it. (It which it originally didn't have one.) Whatever reason, gas doesn't go from the barrel to the bolt carrier group and the bolt doesn't cycle when I fire it.

I'm willing to send it in to have it looked at. I bought it from Arm or Ally but I was wondering if Ballistic Advantage would be more helpful or if I should take it to someone locally.

I was using cheap Wolf ammo 62 grain because I was just breaking it in. I had to pull the charging handle back each time I fired but kept doing it figuring I'd sort out the gas issue later. I tried some Wolf 75 grain and it became really hard to pull the charging handle back. I stopped that after 4 tries and a lot of oil. I hope I didn't damage something.

I was going to remove the barrel and blow into the gas tube to see if it's blocked. If it is I'll wiggle it to see if I can get more air flow. I suppose I could attach a rubber tube with a zip tie to the gas tube so that I didn't have to remove the barrel.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Did you take the roll pin out of the gas block where it goes through gas tube?