Ziggys

Question on colt AR

I bought this about a year ago and have never shot it, the gun has never been fired. When I purchased it did not have a box so I am unsure of the specific model number , though I believe it to be a colt le6920 from assault rifle ban era. (New old stock). If anyone knows exactly what model this is, and what it’s be worth if I sold it myself or what to look for value wise on a trade with a gun shop that would be really helpful. I am a novice with these rifles, so any input is appreciated. Thanks in advance. 
tiJmbeb.jpg

NctOSZw.jpg
JwIzyey.jpg
BMxE2nf.jpg

Also. Can I shoot 5.56 out of this even though it’s stamped 223? They sold me 556 when I bought the gun, but I’m doubting that I can (or should) put 556 through it. 

Look at the barrel and see if it is marked 5.56mm NATO as barrels are the important part in determining actual chambering. Receiver marking really means nothing.

It is definitely ban era as they didn't start using Colt Defense name until 2002 and in 2004 when the ban expired they stopped using the "restricted" markings and some time between those 2 dates they stopped marking them with Colt Manufacturing for the civilian models and everything was marked Colt Defense. 

6 minutes ago, MontanaLon said:

Look at the barrel and see if it is marked 5.56mm NATO as barrels are the important part in determining actual chambering. Receiver marking really means nothing.

It is definitely ban era as they didn't start using Colt Defense name until 2002 and in 2004 when the ban expired they stopped using the "restricted" markings and some time between those 2 dates they stopped marking them with Colt Manufacturing for the civilian models and everything was marked Colt Defense. 

Thank you, this is great. So it’s from some time between 2002-2004. Any idea on value?  I have everything but the box , and I don’t think the manual I have is for this exact gun (but a very similar colt).