AR15Armory.com

Pistol buffer

I'm new to ar15 firearms but see huge potential in being able to have several calibers of uppers and 1 or 2 lowers. I have a 5.56 223 rifle with the 22 LR conversion kit. I am a retired machinist and have a lathe. I would like to have a pistol setup with a short barrel exclusively for the 22. Seems to me from looking  at the adapter that there is no need for a buffer tube which cold make it more compact. Has anyone done this ?  If so how happy are you with it?  ATF problems?

First, Welcome to the forum!

There are a few "plugs/adapters" you can purchase to cap off the buffer extension end.

Basic would be the Spikes Tactical plug. 

4cVpXCt.jpg

KNS and Strike Industries have complete plates with Pic. rails on the end.  

MbMe8E2.jpg

KNS 

9RDFvfn.jpg

Strike Industries.

There are other companies that make these plug adapters...

Prices range from $ 20.00 to about $ 80.00+ range.

The KNS and Strike Industries are in the $ 60.00 range right now.

Have a dedicated 22LR pistol upper with a 9" barrel that I put together.      

bt0BbxF.jpg

Was thinking about getting the 4.5" barrel/BCG set from Right to Bear if they get them back in.

With that short a barrel I'd most likely end up with the KNS plug.

Hope that helps.

Thank you, 

Glenn 

Edited by geepee3