Sign in to follow this  
Ops

SURVIVAL HOW-TO: VENTILATION AND FILTRATION OF AIR

User Info IM User Email User Reply Quote Edit

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am very comfortable with this topic, I was a commercial HVAC mechanic for mot of my adult life.

the basic requirements of a safe room or shelter ventialtion system is to remove contaminants from the air, and provide enough fresh incoming air to replace the oxygen absorbed by the occupants. A high density occupancy will need ventilation air to help control temperature and reduce humidity build up.

We in the trade use the term 'air changes per hour' or AC/HR to determine ventialtion requirements. One AC/HR is the amount of air needed to replace the air volume in the space. For comfort purposes in normal times, we try to have about 3 to 6 AC/HR in a home, with 10% of that being fresh air. To break it donw further, let's use a shelter space 10ft by 20 ft by 8 ft high, or 1600 cubic feet. 3 AC/HR would be 4800 cf/hr, or 800 cubic feet per minute. 10% of this would be 80 cfm. A person at rest uses 10 to 20 cfm to breathe, so this space would support up to 8 people at rest with ann outside air intake of 80 cfm. Ventilating humidity or heat build up would taek up to 10 times that, or once again, back to 800 cfm.

The next project is determining how to move 800 cfm in and out of the space. a '2 ton' (24000 btu) cental AC system runs about 800 cfm, so we will use the above design. Most folks would think of an 800 cfm exhaust fan. this is a bad idea, as uncontrolled air would leak in everywhere. The solution is to use an 800 cfm fan unit, drawing outside air thru filters and dumping the filtered air into the space. this will maintain a positive air pressure inside the space, so that any air leakage will leak filtered air out, rather than contaiminated air in.