SoCali420Benz

AR Newbie needs help

I'm in the market for my first AR. Im thinking about getting a stag arms model 2L. Since im left handed I would like to have a left handed rifle for a change(no more hot brass down the shirt collar!).Since im new to AR's I just wanted to know if stag is a good choice? Do they make a good rifle? Or is there a better Manufacturer that's in the same price range? I live in California so from what i understand, for me to legally own an AR I need to have the standard Mag release removed and replaced with a Mag lock. I also need to have it shipped to me with the upper & lower Haves separated and stock removed. Stag arms is selling the model 2L for $960.00. But i half to buy it through a licensed dealer and there is only one dealer that i could find in my area who was willing to do it. Hes quoting me around $1,200.00 total for the same model 2L, including all the subsequent fees for Backround checks,rifle reassembly,Mag lock instalation,ect.. Does that sound like a fair price, or am i being ripped off? Also Im planning on puting an ACOG sight on it but since its a flat top AR with a standard post front sight i dont know if that front site will block my view through the ACOG.Does anyone know if it will work with the front sight or not? Can i use Picatinny Risers to fix the problam, or do i need to replace the front post sight with a gas block? thanks

Ive always wanted an AR. I cant wait to get some trigger time with it:flea: