atacamadan

HK MP10--is it good or bad?

Hi Guys--I'm new to the Forum. I was on another Forum several years ago, but dropped away with work, family etc... occupying my time. A friend of mine is an assistant chief of police and has worked a lot with SWAT teams and the FBI. I asked him about the MP10 and he said it was no good. That is couldn't handle the higher power and pressure of the 10mm.

Is it still being made? Have they fixed the problems and is it now reliable? Can you get a civilian version or does someone make a good copy? I'd love to have one to complement my G20 when I go out bush (I live in South America) and not have to carry different ammo.

If there is info on this already I apologize for being repetitive, but as a newbie I can't do a search on the Forum until I have 10 posts or replies. Thanks--Dan

:welcome: Glad to have you here on your new forum !

I am surprised to here that about the MP10. I don't

think any non-police can get them. There were clones

available as a MP10 pistol type by Coharie.

:welcome:

The MP5-10 has been discontinued for ~10 years now, if memory serves. Having never fired one, I couldn't attest to the functionality first hand, but I have reviewed various FBI and FBI/HRT footage in which it appears perfectly reliable at least with moderate rounds.

Honestly, though, H&K weaponry has seldom impressed me. If the MP5 could handle full power loads, I would be impressed and surprised, as its mass doesn't strike me as anything beyond the MP5 in 9mm, save perhaps a tad bit more of front-heaviness.

*sigh* Too many bad guys get spared the 10mm's brutal strength in favor of that darn 9mm.

Edited by Altair

:welcome:

The MP5-10 has been discontinued for ~10 years now, if memory serves. Having never fired one, I couldn't attest to the functionality first hand, but I have reviewed various FBI and FBI/HRT footage in which it appears perfectly reliable at least with moderate rounds.